Via Dolorosa

The Via Dolorosa, known in English as the Stations of the Cross, is a revered pilgrimage route in the Old City of Jerusalem, retracing the traditional path that Jesus walked on the way to his crucifixion. For Christians, this is the ultimate pilgrimage, following in the footsteps of Jesus during his final hours before his death on the cross.

The Via Dolorosa consists of 14 stations, each marking an event or a moment of Jesus’ journey to Calvary. Pilgrims start at the Chapel of the Flagellation, where Jesus was scourged, and proceed through narrow streets lined with shops and markets, reflecting on the stations that include Jesus’ meeting with his mother Mary, his falling under the weight of the cross, and Veronica wiping his face. The route culminates at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, where Jesus was crucified and buried.

Walking the Via Dolorosa is a deeply moving experience that allows pilgrims to meditate on the profound love and sacrifice of Jesus, contemplating every drop of blood, every fall, that led up to his final moments on the Cross.

The Via Dolorosa continues to be a place of pilgrimage where Christians from around the world gather to commemorate and relive the events of Jesus’ final hours. It serves as a powerful reminder of God’s enduring love for humanity and the transformative power of Christ’s sacrifice, inviting pilgrims to deepen their faith and commitment to following Jesus’ example of humility, compassion, and forgiveness.